Gallery One

refuseb

Martha Petty, The Cost of Childhood

Triangle Book Arts Group
Re(f)use

January 26 – March 3, 2018
Guest Curated by Janet Guertin

First Friday Gallery Walks:
February 2, March 2 | 6-10pm

Book Arts Demo with members of the Triangle Book Arts Group: 
Saturday February 17 | 11am-1pm

Artist Talk with members of the Triangle Book Arts Group: 
Thursday March 1 | 7pm

Exhibition sponsored by Merrill Lynch Re Corr Bell Group.

 Betty Haskin

 

About Triangle Book Arts Group

The Triangle Book Arts Group represents a diverse array of artists whole explore and expand the idea of books as art objects through high levels of craftsmanship, innovative techniques and imaginative forms. For this exhibition, the 33 participating artists challenged themselves to use found materials. The group has exhibited work at the Carrack Modern Art in Durham, NC and the FRANK Gallery in Chapel Hill, NC. This will be the group’s first exhibition in Raleigh.


About Re(f)use

Triangle Book Arts is an informal group of artists in the Triangle area who work in the book form. Our interests include traditional arts of the book such as bookbinding, papermaking, writing, photography, and printmaking, as well as the genre of artwork called artists’ books: books that are conceptualized and created as original works of art.

For Re(f)use, Triangle Book Arts members created work using primarily recycled or repurposed materials. In some cases this meant using parts of books to tell a new story; in others it meant transforming unassuming or discarded objects to form a new book-inspired structure. This ‘upcycling’ of both content and form challenges the idea of the traditional book form and encourages the audience to ask ‘What object, once repurposed, might have a new story to tell?’ Ultimately the result is layered work that combines a material’s past story with the artist’s vision to create something new and, often, unexpected.


- Janet Guertin

Participating Artists

Kathy Bayard | kjbayard@gmail.com

Patrick Beggs | patrickbeggs@gmail.com

Mary Beth Boone | marybethboone.com

Chuck Cave | chuckcave@gmail.com

Mary Blackwell-Chapman | maryblackwellchapman@gmail.com

John Davis |  jidavis@me.com

Elisabeth Effron

Lisa Gilbert | www.book-artista.com

Steve Godwin | artistbooks.ning.com/profile/SteveGodwin

Beth Grabowski | bethgrabowski.com

Janet Guertin | janetguertin.com

Robin Harper | celestinestudio.com

Betty Haskin | bettyhaskin.daportfolio.com

Delia Keefe | deliakeefe.com

Paul Keene | TongueInCheekPress.com

Susan Leeb | susanleeb1@gmail.com

Barbara Livingston | nanatwodogs@gmail.com

Betty Martinez

Carolyn Maynard

Laurie O’Neill | slowlysheturned.net

Martha Petty | marthapetty.com

Audrey Pinto | apinto509@gmail.com

Dana Palmer

Melinda Rittenhouse | melindarittenhouse@gmail.com

Steven Silverleaf | stevensilverleaf.com

Kathy Steinsberger | paperbuttons.blogspot.com

Helen Spielman | Helen@PerformConfidently.com

Debbie Suchoff | debbiesuchoff@yahoo.com

Gwen Van Ark | gwenvanark@gmail.com

Louanne Watley | www.unc.edu/~lkgarbo

Emily Eve Weinstein | weinsteinart.com

Mary Yordy | mymaryhome@gmail.com

Andrea Zietlow | andrea.zietlow@gmail.com


Gwen Van Ark, Collective

Mary Yordy, Key to Life